English

I. It`s an Idiom Matching Game

1. a nest egg Kylie has decided she wants a nest egg, so she’sgone to the shop to get onesaving as much as she canlearning how to grow one
saving as much as she can

2. deep pockets Harold has very deep pockets, and
c. he spends a lot of money

3. add insult to injury After saying Beverly made too many mistakes, Bob added insult to injury by saying
b. she worked very slowly

 4. a knight in shining armour | armor My car broke down and I was stuck on the side of the road until a knight in shining armour came and
c. fixed my car for me

5. a wolf in sheep’s clothing We realized the teacher was a wolf in sheep’s clothing when he
c. was arrested for abusing one of his students

II. Complete the letter Imagine you had a bad experience in an expensive hotel last week. When you get home you decide to write a letter or email to complain. Begin your letter with Dear Sir/Madam,Dear Mr. Smith, I am writing to complain about … orI am writing to express my dissatisfaction with …Typical endings I look forward to hearing from you. Yours faithfully…
Dear Mr. Smith, I’m Mariam. Well as you can see I was one of our guests who came to spend her vacation in your hotel. I’m writing to complain about some problems that you have in you hotel. Well first of all when people choose your hotel they think that they would have really good vacation as the price is quite high. But unfortunately you have some problems with the service. Workers don’t really treat people like guests as it’s typical of such hotels. I hope that you can fix that because your hotel is really good besides that.
Your faithfully `
Mariam

III. Can you list things that really annoy you. (about 4 or 5)E.g. I get into the shower and then either the water goes cold or there is no shower gel left.
When people don’t listen me.
When because of someone I’m late from some important places.
When people don’t ask me before making decisions .


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *